Jim Huang Wins Louisiana State

New Orleans Jesuit’s Jim Huang is the 2012 Louisiana state champion, having defeated Teurlings Catholic’s Nicholas Chu in the final round. Jim is coached by Travis Smith, Ian Gunn, and Justin Pearce; Nicholas is coached by Andre Courville and Samantha Debevec.

In novice, Christ Episcopal’s Manday Savage and Carter Friend closed out the final round (Carter advanced over another teammate in semifinals). The trio is coached by Crawford Leavoy, Skip Koshak, and Lisa Geary.

Complete results:

(1) Teurlings Catholic NC def. (8) Christ Episcopal MK (Matthew Koshak)
(2) New Orleans Jesuit JH def. (7) Pineville EE (Eileen Eichennauer)
(6) Lafayette High School TC def. (3) Isidore Newman MM (Matthew Meyer)
(5) Benjamin Franklin JR def. (4) New Orleans Jesuit JP (Jacob Pritt)

Teurlings Catholic NC def Benjamin Franklin JR (Jack Richards)
NO Jesuit JH def. Lafayette TC (Taylor Cullen)

Huang def. Chu

Christ Episcopal MS def. Lafayetter FA (Faiz Alum)
Christ Episcopal CF over Christ Episcopal WW

Christ Episcopal MS and CF close out.