Valley Sophomore Throw-Down Entries Announced


The second annual West Des Moines Valley Sophomore Throw-Down round robin will take place on Friday, September 28 at the West Des Moines Marriott, the day prior to the Valley Mid-America Cup.

Last year’s competition featured twelve of the best sophomore LD debaters in the country. In last year’s final round, Suncoast Community’s Carlton Bone defeated St. Louis Park’s Leah Shapiro. Three of last year’s competitors qualified to the 2012 TOC.

This year’s field:

University School (FL) – David Branse

Walt Whitman (MD) – Sophia Caldera

Woodlands (TX) – Abbey Chapman

Brentwood (CA) – Jacob Chorches

Dobson (AZ) – Katie Dixon

Hopkins (MN) – Sam Greenwald

Apple Valley (MN) – Grace Hoffa

Harker (CA) – Pranav Reddy

Valley (IA) – Gina Scorpiniti

Lake Highland (FL) – Rikhav Shah

Valley (IA) – Grady Stein

PV Peninsula (CA) – Arjun Tambe

Sacred Heart (MA) – Adam Tomasi

Hockaday (TX) – Lakshmi Uppalapati

Lynbrook (CA) – Dhruv Walia

DM Roosevelt (IA) – Emma Weddle