Rebecca Kuang Wins The Barkley Forum

Atlanta, GA–Congratulations to Greenhill’s Rebecca Kuang and Cypress Bay’s Robbie Steirn for reaching the Dale Lauder McCall Exhibition at Emory University’s Barkley Forum. Rebecca was awarded the Silver Key for defeating Robbie on a 2-1 decision. Rebecca is by coached Aaron Timmons, Bekah Boyer, Jake Nebel, Noah Star and Lyall Stuart; Robbie is coached by Megan Loden West and Mike Fried.

Walter Alan Ulrich Tutorial:
Greenhill RK def. Monticello LS (Lucas Smith)
Cypress Bay RS def. Durham RB (Raghav Bansal)
NO Jesuit JH def. Katy Taylor NY (Neel Yerneni)
Fern Creek AT def. Newark Science CQ (Christian Quiroz)
Whitman NK def. Isidore Newman MM (Matthew Meyer)
Lexington PZ def. NO Jesuit RH (Reuben Hogan)
Regis RM def. Central Catholic ZS (Zane Stiles)
Bronx Science SS def. Trinity Prep MP (Mathew Pregasen)
Southlake Caroll DP def. Whitman TS (Tori Seidenstein)
Vestavia Hills DS def. Strake Jesuit (Alberto Tohme)
Lexington AH def. Myers Park HW (Hannah Wang)
Cypress Bay JS def. Ft. Lauderdale ES (Ethan Singer)
LAMP RR def. Kinkaid JL (John Lewis)
Greenhill BW def. SLP LS (Leah Shapiro)
Peninsula AT def. Bronx Science ZR (Zeke Rosenberg)
Peninsula AJ def. Lake Highland NN (Nikhil Nandu)

Rhoda Kirchner Radow Tutorial:
Lexington AH def Southlake Carroll DP
Regis RM def Cypress Bay JS
Bronx Science SS def Lexington PZ
Vestavia Hills DS def Whitman NK
NO Jesuit JH def Greenhill BW
Fern Creek AT def LAMP RR
Greenhill RK def Peninsula AJ
Cypress Bay RS def Peninsula AT

Patricia Bailey Tutorial (bid):
Lexington AH vs Cypress Bay RS (Schuyler, Nails, Sigalow)
Fern Creek Traditional AT vs Bronx Science SS (Palmer, Hamad, Malis)
Regis RM vs Greenhill RK (Dunay, Vincent, Stewart)
New Orleans Jesuit JH vs Vestavia Hills DS (Zhu, Wilder, Basu)

Marilee Dukes Tutorial:
Greenhill RK def. Bronx Science SS (Shai Szulanski)
Cypress Bay RS def. Vestavia Hills DS (Daniel Selamn)

Dale Lauder McCall Exhibition:
Greenhill RK def. Cypress Bay RS (Robbie Steirn)

Silver Key Champion:
Greenhill RK (Rebecca Kuang)

Top 10 Speakers:
1. Jim Huang (NO Jesuit JH)
2. Rebecca Kuang (Greenhill RK)
3. Adnan Toric (Fern Creek Traditiona AT)
4. Robbie Steirn (Cypress Bay RS)
5. Nathaniel Korn (Walt Whitman NK)
6. Daniel Selman (Vestavia Hills High DS)
7. Shai Szulanski (Bronx Science SS)
8. Alberto Tohme (Strake Jesuit College AT)
9. Paul Zhou (Lexington PZ)
10. Mathew Pregasen (Trinity Prep MP)

Congratulations to this year’s Barkley Forum Gold Key inductees: Greg Malis, director of speech & debate at Isidore Newman in New Orleans, LA; Sara Sanchez, director of debate at Lexington High School in Lexington, MA; and Peter Pober, director of forensics at George Mason University. An explanation of the Barkley Forum’s history & traditions, along with a list of Gold Key coaches from 1964-2012: BF Legacy