Valley Announces Sophomore Throw-Down Field

September 6, 2013 – The West Des Moines Valley High School Debate Team has released the field for the 3rd annual Sophomore Throw-Down. The Throw-Down will be held on Friday, September 27 at the West Des Moines Marriott.

The 18 invitees will be divided into 3 pods of 6 debaters each. Each competitor will debate five times with two-judge panels. The top debater from each pod will advance to semifinals, along with a fourth debater with the next highest overall record.

The champion and runner-up will receive crystal loving cups. The other participants will receive glass commemorative awards.

The field:

Jonathan Beavers, St. Thomas HS (TX)

Jackie Chu, WDM Valley

Dino De La O, Law Magnet HS

Claire Hoffa, Apple Valley

Carson Horky, Brentwood

Xinlan Emily Hu, duPont Manual

Samantha Koreman, University School

Oliver Korten, Bronx Science

Neal Kapoor, Lake Highland

Nathan Lam, San Marino

Rock Morille, Strake Jesuit

James Naumovski, Los Altos HS

Sreya Pinnamaneni, Lake Highland

Jacob Ronkin, University School

Jake Steirn, Cypress Bay HS

Devon Turner, Brentwood

Nalin Vattigunta, Oxbridge Academy

Gage Whitehead, Strake Jesuit