Author: Grant Brown

West Broward’s Ethan Massa wins the Mid-America Cup at Valley

Congratulations to West Broward’s Ethan Massa for championing the 2018 Mid-America Cup at West Des Moines Valley. In finals, Ethan defeated Princeton’s Daniel Shahab Diaz on a 2-1 decision. Additional congratulations to Lake Highland’s Julia Wu for top speaker, collecting the infamous giant gavel as a result.   Full results can be viewed...

Read More

Lake Highland’s Sachin Shah wins the Valley Round Robin, Walt Whitman’s Benjamin Waldman wins the Sophomore Throwdown

Congratulations to Lake Highland’s Sachin Shah for championing the 2018 Valley Round Robin. In finals, Sachin defeated American Heritage’s Robby Gillespie on a 2-1 decision. At the 2018 Sophomore Throwdown, Walt Whitman’s Benjamin Waldman was declared the champion. In finals, Benjamin defeated Lake Highland’s Abby Morris. Full results can be viewed...

Read More

The 2018-2019 Bid List

Congratulations to everyone who bid at Valley and CSU! There are now seven debaters qualified to the TOC.   Three Bids Beckett Larcher – Lake Travis (Loyola, Greenhill, Valley) Joshua Herrera – Strake Jesuit (Grapevine, Greenhill, Valley)   Two Bids Alexandra Mork – Harvard-Westlake (Loyola, Greenhill*) Gautam Iyer – Carroll (Grapevine, Greenhill) Sachin Shah – Lake Highland (Yale, Valley) Rex Evans – Santa Monica (Greenhill, Valley) Kumail Zaidi – Oak Hall (Greenhill, Valley)   One Bid Kavin Kumaravel – Dougherty Valley (Loyola) Ronak Ahuja – Halstrom (Loyola) Viren Abhyankar – Northwood (Loyola) Jason Chan – Arcadia (Loyola) Emma Blum – Brentwood (Loyola) Ryan Younger – Brentwood (Loyola) Nehal Chigurupati – University School (University of Kentucky) Maya Arora – Cape Fear Academy (University of Kentucky) Mihir Rai – Greenhill (Grapevine) Anna Myers – Greenhill (Grapevine) Samir Mohsin – Carroll (Grapevine) Grayson Constantine – Montgomery (Grapevine) Khoa Pham – Garland (Grapevine) Kyle Lleras – Marcus (Grapevine) Andrew Garber – Cambridge Rindge and Latin (Yale) Rohith Sudhakar – Westview (Yale) Animesh Joshi – West Des Moines Valley (Yale) Benjamin Waldman – Walt Whitman (Yale) Daniel Harris – Walt Whitman (Yale) Daniel Lin – Princeton (Yale) Arnold Jia – Millburn (Yale) Ava Zinman – Harrison (Greenhill) Ari Davidson – Harvard-Westlake (Greenhill) Jaya Nayar – Harvard-Westlake (Greenhill) Samantha McLoughlin – Harvard-Westlake (Greenhill) Vishan Chaudhary – Harvard-Westlake (Greenhill) Jessa Glassman – Harvard-Westlake (Greenhill) Osmane Sanogo –...

Read More